Being Raised by Grandparents- Post 8

I personally was raised by my parents, but have always wondered what it is like for children who are raised by their grandparents. I think that important to say that these children often have parents who have passed or who are unfit to raise their own children. These factors should play a role in how grandparents raise their grandchildren.

One website said that a lot of time grandparents feel resentment toward the unfit parents. However, most think that it is important for children who have lost their parents to be with family or close friends of the family after the loss if possible. I know that I would want to live with someone who knew my parents and could remind me of things about them.

One problem that comes across often when a grandparent raises a child, is should I act like the grandparent or the parent? The website says, “Demonstrate flexibility by moving in and out of the various roles you may be required to play, such as nurturer, mentor, role model, playmate and “parent.”

“Studies hint that children without serious pre-existing problems who are raised by grandparents are healthier than children in single parent or remarried families, have fewer behavioral problems and are better adapted socially.”

Whitney J Kerr

http://www.grandparenting.org/Grandparents%20Raising%20Grandchildren.htm

~ by whitkerr9 on December 5, 2009.

5 Responses to “Being Raised by Grandparents- Post 8”

  1. I actually know a lot about this. My cousin (who is like a sister to me) has been raised by our grandparents since she was 5 years old. She is now 19. It is very difficult for our grandparents to hide the fact that they have resentment toward my cousin’s mother – even after she recently passed away. I think my cousin has had a tough time throughout her life because of the negativity my grandparents bring to the table about her mother. Her mother may not have been the best parent and may not have loved her in the way she needed to be, but she tried. Instead of knowing this, all my cousin knows is that her mother was a terrible parent and didn’t love her at all because of the choices she made (these are the things our grandparents have told her). Today, my cousin has obvious signs of regret, confusion, emotional and psychological problems, and so much more. Everyone in our family knows that my grandparents have done their absolute best to raise my cousin. However, ignoring problems don’t make them disappear and go away. Rather, in this case, it causes more problems for the innocent.

    Marissa Hayes

  2. I can kind of relate to the subject. See I was raised by my grandparents for a good portion of my life. Since both of my parents were out a lot I was usually dumped at my grandparents. I kind of just saw it as having two different sets of parents. Obviously people are different from each other and because of it I believe that i’ve benefitted greatly from it.

  3. I can kind of relate to the subject. See I was raised by my grandparents for a good portion of my life. Since both of my parents were out a lot I was usually dumped at my grandparents. I kind of just saw it as having two different sets of parents. Obviously people are different from each other and because of it I believe that i’ve benefitted greatly from it.

    -james frost

  4. That seems vast. What studies? I am curious.

    Kellie Gibson

  5. I wonder if it would be hard for a child, who has a normal relationship with their grandparents and is later “parented” by the grandparents due to their parents dying or what not, to see their grandparents as their new “parents” and not just the people who watch them when their parents go out.

Leave a Reply

 
