More on finger length

When we discussed the relationship between finger length and sexuality in class, I became very curious as to how exactly they are related.  In class we discussed how that exposure to prenatal androgen can result in homosexuality. This exposure causes abnormalities in the finger lengths of those exposed.  I found that in males, the finger length difference is not always as drastic.

Birth order however plays a very significant role. Men with more than one older brother are significantly more likely to be homosexual.  After  having multiple male children, a mothers body adapts and more androgen is exposed to the fetus.  In the research I read about, this was only the case in males.  Having older sisters did not appear to affect the finger length or sexuality of men.

Homosexual men also generally have larger genitalia, which is expected to be a result of high amounts of androgen.  I observed data from several studies, and all of them suggest the same thing.  Finger size and birth order both have significant a significant relationship with sexuality.

–Eric Harris

http://www.unl.edu/rhames/courses/readings/homofinger/homo_finger.html

~ by ericharris on November 30, 2009.

4 Responses to “More on finger length”

  1. quite interesting, I never would have thought that this was in any way connected to homosexuality.

    Reuben

  2. I think it’s hard to say that finger length can cause homosexuality… if it is even true about finger length, I simply think that they grew more as a fetus rather than they have long fingers than others. It’s definitely quite interesting and you bring up a good point.

  3. I agree with Reuben, I had no idea that birth order let alone finger length can relate to homosexuality, but I’m still a bit skeptical about the matter when it comes to the finger length business.

  4. I agree with Reuben, I had no idea that birth order let alone finger length can relate to homosexuality, but I’m still a bit skeptical about the matter when it comes to the finger length business.

    -James Frost

Leave a Reply

 
