I really enjoyed the movie “my vie en Rose.” I thought it was an interesting look into a child trying to figure out his own identity and learning about his parents at tha same time. The therapist said something that stood out to me, “Sometimes you have to hide something until your older, than you can tell your parents about it” or something to that degree. I find it a life lesson we all learn at some point. Sometimes there are aspects of ourselves we cannot tell our parents until we are old enough to handle their reaction. The boy in the movie was so innocent in all his acts, he was only trying to be himself. I also thought the t.v. show he watched influenced him a lot, so why didn’t the parents stop letting him watch it? He was obviously mimicking the lady in the show and wanted to be her, so why didn’t they take that from him? Not that I think that is a proper reaction, just an observation. Kayla Lindberg

~ by kaylajolindberg on November 29, 2009.

One Response to “I really enjoyed the movie “my vie en Rose.” I thought it was an interesting look into a child trying to figure out his own identity and learning about his parents at tha same time. The therapist said something that stood out to me, “Sometimes you have to hide something until your older, than you can tell your parents about it” or something to that degree. I find it a life lesson we all learn at some point. Sometimes there are aspects of ourselves we cannot tell our parents until we are old enough to handle their reaction. The boy in the movie was so innocent in all his acts, he was only trying to be himself. I also thought the t.v. show he watched influenced him a lot, so why didn’t the parents stop letting him watch it? He was obviously mimicking the lady in the show and wanted to be her, so why didn’t they take that from him? Not that I think that is a proper reaction, just an observation. Kayla Lindberg”

  1. You’re absolutely right. Unfortunately, many parents have not internalized the “love the child unconditionally, even if you don’t approve of the behavior” mantra, which means that a lot of individuals feel pressure to wait until adulthood to be honest about their gender or sexual identity or choices they feel their parents wouldn’t approve of.

Leave a Reply

 
