My reaction to the movie

If Ludovic was my child I would put him into therapy just like everyone else. I would also go to therapy myself. I would also start to research his condition extensively to make sure I handle it as well I possibly can. I would not publicly humiliate him or punish him for his behavior. I would like to think that I would still love my child no matter what his or her problem might be. In high school I had a friend whose younger sister had gender identity disorder. The counselor her family places her in recommended letting her be who she wanted to be and that the family should start in therapy for themselves. This ended up working very well for them and they learned to accept that she honestly believed that she is a boy, despites anatomy suggesting otherwise. I think this was easier for them due to the fact that it is more socially acceptable for a girl to dress as a boy than it is for a boy to dress as a girl. When watching the movie I just felt so horrible for this confused little boy who just became more confused and felt guilty for something he did not understand. His parents needed to be more understanding and patient with him. Yelling and blaming all their life’s failures on him did not help him to understand what was happening or perhaps help him to understand that he is a boy.

Cassidy Gore

~ by cassidyk03 on November 24, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
