Language Rich Environments

As I was riding the train home from class a few days ago, I happened to be sitting on by two little girl, who were riding with their parents, headed somewhere. Neither of the parents were really talking to the children, they were involved in conversations among themselves, and I found myself talking to one of the little girls.  She was about a year and a half old, and didn’t really say much, she was somewhat inquisitive, but looked more to her surroundings than to her parents for exploration.  She would do something, and I would narrate what she was doing (having just come from the class where we talked about it, I felt the need to apply my recently acquired knowledge). Her parents did little, if any of this, at least in the short time I saw them. And I wondered, “How will this little girl grow up? what will she learn?”  She did not speak, or make any sort of noise in the time I was around her.  She was not shy, just didn’t talk.

Perhaps, if her parents would talk to her more, as they were doing novel things, like riding the train, she would have spoken more. I hope this wasn’t an accurate picture of what actually goes on with this little girl, or any child. But, in our world of TV and babysitters, it happens all too frequently.

~ by Melissa on November 13, 2009.

One Response to “Language Rich Environments”

  1. That is too bad if the parents don’t interact with her very much. Hopefully she has other sources if not!
    Rebekah Pinegar

Leave a Reply

 
