Attachment w/ Parents as an Adult

As an adult, I believe I have a secure relationship with not only my parents but my girlfriend, as well.  I have a very healthy relationship with each one of them.  I am comfortable depending on them and having them depend on me; I don’t worry about being alone; I have the ability to be independent.  However, I do often worry about my parents, expecially my mom.  I’m not sure when or how it started, but it seems as though I always overreact whenever she is emotionally or physically hurt.  You would think that I was the hurt one if you saw me. 

For example, my mom and I were in a mo-ped accident in Mexico last summer.  We crashed into a raised sidewalk, and she tore a whole in her leg.  She was bleeding, and you could actually see the BONE.  Surprisingly, she seemed fine.  She kept saying, “Im fine”, It doesn’t hurt”, “It’ll be okay”.  But all I could do was panic!  (Now, keep in mind, I was 20 at the time.)  I cried like a baby!  I’m not proud to admit it, but I did.  It was as if my mom was in a life-threatening situation or something.  Of course I knew she wasn’t, but I was just down-right scared for her well-being.  And this kind of thing happens all the time.  This was the only time I cried, but I often worry about my mom even if she falls off a ladder or something little like that.  Is this kind of reaction healthy?  Is there anything that could have caused this kind of behavior?

Marissa Hayes

~ by Marissa Hayes on October 9, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
